Shades of Brown and Gray

Impact of Ill Mentality

the self-styled life

I’m following in horror as madness erupts in Baltimore. First, the as-yet unexplained death of a black man in police custody (yet another one). Then, the rioting and destruction of one of America’s coolest cities.

If I wasn’t living as an expat in Toronto, I’d very possibly be living in Baltimore where many of my friends from university stuck around after we graduated from Loyola College in Maryland (now Loyola University).

My time in Baltimore was definitely a particular and privileged one. I was at an affluent, private university that wasn’t nearly as diverse as the city that housed it. The make-up of the university was similar to my high school in rural/suburban New York–primarily white, Catholic, middle and upper middle class. It wasn’t “The Wire” I was living, as I taxied from one nice part of the city to another. Nevertheless, the education I received there did manage…

View original post 629 more words

Leave a Reply

